Friday, August 28, 2009

The Heyman Celebration

The Heyman Celebration will be an uplifting musical tribute to remember Vic Heyman and to honor Reba Heyman. It will be a mini-folk festival format, benefiting the Heyman Folk Scholarship Fund and Parkinson's Disease research.

Vic Heyman died on January 6, 2009. The folk music community has lost its "Folk Angel."

Vic and his wife, Reba, shown at a folk festival in 2008, were known as the financial guardians of countless folk performers nationwide. Their generosity ranged from financial backing of folk music venues and festivals to no-strings loans to down-on-their luck musicians (for travel or CD production), to thousands of acts of random kindness.

With this musical concert celebration, nationally touring musicians pay homage to their lasting legacy.

The Basics:

  • Sunday, October 11, 2009

  • Times: 3 p.m. - 11 p.m.

    • Live Folk Music Performances: 3:00 - 5:30 p.m.

    • Dinner Break: 5:30 - 7:00 p.m.

    • Live Folk Music Performances: 7:00 - 10:00 p.m.

    • Golden Circle Reception afterwards: 10:00 p.m.

  • Venue:

    • Olney Theatre Center, Olney, Maryland - Historic Stage


    • Map (click)

    • It is about 10 miles north from the Washington Capital Beltway, due north of Silver Spring, MD.

  • Performers Scheduled:

    • Ellen Bukstel

    • Terry Gonda w/ Kirsti Reeves

    • Patty Larkin

    • Kate McDonnell

    • SONiA

    • Amy Speace

    • LisaBeth Weber and Maggie Marshall

    • Vance Gilbert

    • Cosy Sheridan

    • Tom Prasada-Rao and Cary Cooper

    • Lara Herscovitch

    • Stephanie Corby

    • Plus some unannounced star performers that you know and love.

  • Tickets:

    • 125.00 - 100 Golden Circle seating, dinner & Post-concert Reception with the artists

    • $50.00 - General Reserved seating - center section

    • $25.00 - General Reserved seating - side sections (some seats may have a view that is partially obstructed) - limited number available

    • Tickets are now ON SALE (Click for information on how to order tickets)

  • Benefiting:

Concert Committee:

  • Sherry and Steve Panzer, co-chairs

  • Kristin Fuhrmann Clark

  • Jay Kohn

  • Sandy Lubin

  • Scott Moore

  • Karen Tupek

Contact Information:

Concert Committee:

Additional information at the official website.

No comments: