Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Woody Guthrie's MY DUSTY ROAD

I am not in the habit of making commercial announcements, but this release is an historic milestone,

My Dusty Road

From Bill Nowlin (Rounder)

Check out Woody Guthrie's MY DUSTY ROAD - Rounder's 4-CD set that is thankfully getting massive press, including a very rare 5-star review in Rolling Stone. It was my pleasure to have written some of the notes telling the story about how t...he masters for this album were found in the basement of a Brooklyn brownstone, where they have been for about 60 years. The sound quality is stunning. [end of advertisement! :)]

Woody Guthrie Woody Guthrie:
My Dusty Road, Released 08/25/2009

Released in coordination with the Woody Guthrie Archives, this 4 disc boxed set is the definitive edition of Woody Guthrie¹s mid-1940s recordings. The sound quality is superb, taken from newly discovered original metal masters. The set includes many of Woody's best-known songs, along with traditional material and collaborations with fellow guitarist Cisco Houston and harmonica player Sonny Terry. To complement and enhance enjoyment of the recordings, the discs are packaged in a replica of a vintage suitcase, complete with handle and latches. Inside the box are a full-color 68 page book that includes extensive notes and many rare or previously unpublished photos, as well as illustrations and illuminated lyric sheets by Guthrie himself. Also included are facsimiles of Woody's business card, a postcard sent from Florida to his wife, and a booking card from the 1940s.

Compact Disc: $75.99 (CDROUN1162 / 011661116221) Buy Compact Disc 75.99
My Dusty Road has 54 tracks:
1 This Land Is Your Land 02:44 N/A
2 Going Down the Road (I Ain't Gonna Be Treated This Way) 02:56 N/A
3 Talking Sailor 03:06 N/A
4 Philadelphia Lawyer 02:32 N/A
5 Hard Travelin' 02:38 N/A
6 Jesus Christ 02:41 N/A
7 The Sinking of the Reuben James 03:25 N/A
8 Pretty Boy Floyd 03:06 N/A
9 Grand Coulee Dam 02:09 N/A
10 Nine Hundred Miles 02:51 N/A
11 Going Down the Road (I Ain't Gonna Be Treated This Way) 2 02:57 N/A
12 My Daddy (Flies a Ship in the Sky) 02:33 N/A
13 Bad Repetation 02:50 N/A
1 Poor Boy 02:26 N/A
2 Worried Man Blues 02:01 N/A
3 A Picture From Life's Other Side 03:05 N/A
4 Buffalo Skinners 03:20 N/A
5 Hard Ain't It Hard 02:40 N/A
6 Stewball 03:27 N/A
7 Stackolee 03:01 N/A
8 Gypsy Davy 02:49 N/A
9 Little Darling Pal of Mine 02:54 N/A
10 What Did the Deep Sea Say? 02:59 N/A
11 Chisholm Trail 02:36 N/A
12 Put My Little Shoes Away 02:49 N/A
13 Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone? 02:33 N/A
14 John Henry 02:39 N/A
1 I'm Gonna Join That One Big Union (You Gotta Go Down and Join the Union) 02:29 N/A
2 Hangnot, Slipnot 02:32 N/A
3 Gonna Roll the Union On 02:37 N/A
4 The Ludlow Massacre 03:32 N/A
5 Sally Don't You Grieve 02:23 N/A
6 Harriet Tubman's Ballad part 1 03:24 N/A
7 Harriet Tubman's Ballad part 2 03:09 N/A
8 Tear the Facists Down 02:05 N/A
9 When The Yanks Go Marching In 02:42 N/A
10 You Can Hear My Whistle Blow 02:23 N/A
11 Union Burying Ground 03:05 N/A
12 You Gotta Go Down and Join the Union 02:43 N/A
1 Train Breakdown 02:31 N/A
2 Do You Ever Think Of Me (aka At My Window) 03:05 N/A
3 Guitar Rag 02:19 N/A
4 Square Dance Medley 03:50 N/A
5 Guitar Breakdown 02:20 N/A
6 Raincrow Bill 02:36 N/A
7 Ain't Nobody's Business 02:42 N/A
8 Stepstone 02:52 N/A
9 Ezekiel Saw the Wheel 02:42 N/A
10 Bile Them Cabbage Down 02:46 N/A
11 Danville Girl 03:42 N/A
12 Guitar Blues 02:55 N/A
13 Brown's Ferry Blues 02:45 N/A
14 More Pretty Girls Than One 02:16 N/A
15 Sonny's Flight 02:57 N/A

No comments: